My road in life took a while to figure out.
I was unable to attend the university away from my home town due to finances. I decided to make the best of it and moved in with some friends.
I started working at a bookstore with lots of other college student and on campus this made me feel connected to the school and my studies.
I started school as pre-medicine and quickly realized I hated the work. Once I realized this I declared my major as English.
I worked 3 jobs, including as a Residential Assistant (RA), to save money for my first studio apartment. Working as an RA and living by myself taught me a lot about being a responsible adult.
I graduated from school with my English and Women’s Studies degrees. This was a proud moment as the first woman in my family to receive a college degree.
Started my first job out of school in an Insurance Company call center. It was my first experience in an office. I quickly realized I wanted to do Human Resources.
After 2 1/2 years I finally received my first Human Resources job and it happened to be in Compensation. I found a passion for the work.
I decided it was time to move to a larger job mark and moved to Indianapolis for a Compensation position with a larger organization.


High School
Blackhawk Christian
English and WoWomen’s Studies


Intermediate Compensation Consultant

I ensure pay equity by market pricing jobs and writing job descriptions.

Career Roadmap

My work combines:
My work combines:
Non-Profit Organizations
Learning / Being Challenged

Day to Day

I generally start the day by reviewing the projects I’m working on and then my day to day tasks. Part of my work in a large organization is working on interesting and dynamic projects.

Advice for Getting Started

Here's the first step for everyone

Do an entry level HR job and see what area interests you most.

Recommended Education

My career is related to what I studied. I'd recommend the path I took:

English and WoWomen’s Studies


The Noise I Shed

From Society in General:

"I had a lot of people tell me I would never find a job with my Women’s Studies and English degrees."

Challenges I Overcame

First-Generation College Student