My road in life took a while to figure out.
At age of 17 I went into foster care. But had been taking care of myself most of my life.
Graduated with a B.A. Communication, emphasis in Business, Journalism & Graphic Design.
Exited side left into the 'real world' and worked as a middle manager in a convenience store.
After 1 yr felt an artistic void and started my own photography business.
Left convenience store industry after 2.5 years to become a graphic typesetter temp.
Took a risk, quit temp job and applied for a position in Higher Education.
Continued to build my business and work full-time while being a wife and mother.
Keep following my journey


Coordinator of Career Services and Internships

I work with students to help them find careers.

Career Roadmap

My work combines:
My work combines:
Philosophy & Religion
Helping People

Day to Day

8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Check and answer emails (recruiters, students, professors), meet one-on-one with students, create designs for an event, host a career services event / workshop, take time to read news and industry articles, update social media. Network, network, network. 8 p.m.-12:30 p.m. Answer emails, edit images, update price lists, create promotions, update social media.

Advice for Getting Started

Here's the first step for college students

Get involved and figure out what type of worker / individual you are and build your network.

Recommended Education

My career is not related to what I studied. I'd recommend this path instead:


The Noise I Shed

From Society in General:

"If it wasn't for me, you would be living in a gutter someplace. (my parents) You're going to do great things. (my mentors, professors) Oh, that thing you do. (my family) Oh, you're a girl, you'll know how to cut cake better than me. (male co-worker)"

Challenges I Overcame

Racial Discrimination
First-Generation College Student